Circulation Policies

All library users are required to present a valid picture ID before checking out materials.




Who may borrow library materials

  • CSU Students, Faculty, and Staff
  • CSU Alumni
  • CSU Emeritus Faculty
  • CSU Board of Trustees and Board of Visitors members
  • Students, faculty and staff currently enrolled at any public or private South Carolina college or university which is a member of PASCAL, the Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries. This includes academic institutions in the Charleston Area Libraries Consortium (CALC), which includes the Citadel, College of Charleston, Medical University of South Carolina, and Trident Technical College. PASCAL Visiting Patrons visit the Charleston Southern University Library in person. PASCAL patrons may also request to have CSU materials delivered to their home institutions through the PASCAL Delivers InterLibrary Loan system.
  • Students currently enrolled in the Charleston School of Law
  • Students currently enrolled in the Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary Extension Program
  • Teacher Cadets (high school students enrolled in one CSU education course)
  • Area Baptist ministers
  • Friends of the CSU Library (currently limited to residents of The Elms of Charleston)

Return to Top




Types of materials and loan periods

Loan periods are determined by the category of library user and the type of material as indicated in the chart below. Some materials do not circulate.

Library User Material Type Loan Period Overdue Fines Max Items Renewable

CSU students

CSU staff

Books, South Carolina Room Books, and Government Documents 21 days 10¢ per day 10 once
Leisure Reading Books 21 days 10¢ per day 2 no
Juvenile Books and Curriculum Books 7 days 10¢ per day 5 once
Videotapes and DVDs 2 hours ; must be used in the library none 1 once
Leisure Collection DVDs (students only) 3 days $1.00 per day 1 once
Audiotapes and CDs 7 days 25¢ per day 3 no
Reserve Items

most 2 hrs; some 3 or 7 days

$1.00 per day 3 no

CSU faculty

CSU emeritus faculty

Books, South Carolina Room Books, and Government Documents 120 days none 25 once
Leisure Reading 21 days none 2 no
Juvenile Books and Curriculum Books 7 days none 5 once
Audiotapes, and CDs 7 days none 5 once
Videotapes and DVD's 7 days none 5 once

PASCAL Visiting Patrons

Charleston School of Law students


Books and Government Documents 21 days depends on policy at patron's library 3 once

CSU Alumni

Board of Trustees

Board of Visitors

Students in Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary Extension Program

Teacher Cadets

Area Baptist ministers


Books, South Carolina Room Books, and Government Documents 14 days 10¢ per day 2 once

Friends

Books, South Carolina Room Books, and Government Documents 21 days 10¢ per day 2 once

Return to Top




Fines

Fines for overdue items are imposed to insure that books and AV media are returned promptly and are available for other library users. Fines continue to accrue each day an item is kept overdue, including holidays, so students are encouraged to return or renew library materials before holiday periods. As a courtesy the library will send overdue notices, but it is the borrower's responsibility to return library materials on or before the due date even if a notice is not received. Borrowers who owe fines will not be allowed to check out materials or use the library's Courier or Interlibrary Loan services until all fines are paid.

Return to Top




Renewing Library Materials

Some materials may be renewed for an additional loan period if the books are not overdue and if they have not been requested by another library user. Books may be renewed in person at the Circulation Desk or by calling 843-863-7938. Overdue items may be renewed if the fines are paid at the time of the renewal request.

Return to Top




Reserve Materials

Reserve items are those placed on a limited check out system by professors as supplemental course material. These items are arranged by the professors' last names and are located at the Circulation Desk in the main floor lobby or at the AV/Media desk on the second floor. A list of the items currently on reserve may be searched through the Course Reserve Materials link in the CSU online catalog. The loan periods for reserve materials are set by the professors and may vary from two hours (not to leave the library) to a one week checkout period. The minimum fine for an overdue reserve item is $1.00 per day.

Return to Top




InterLibrary Loan /Courier Service

Materials which are not owned by the CSU Library may be borrowed from other libraries throughout the United States by current Charleston Southern University students, faculty, and staff. InterLibrary Loan (ILL) requests may be made using PASCAL Delivers or OCLC InterLibrary Loan and the items will be delivered to the CSU Library. For more information about what may be requested, loan periods, costs, etc., see the Questions About InterLibrary Loan.

Alternately, CSU students may choose to visit other libraries in the Charleston area or South Carolina to borrow materials in person.

Return to Top




Checking out books from other libraries

Charleston Southern University students, faculty, and staff who visit the libraries at the Citadel, College of Charleston, Medical University of South Carolina, or Trident Technical College may check out books from those libraries with a valid CSU ID card. Links to the other local libraries' online catalogs and homepages may be found on the CSU Library Catalog webpage.

Charleston Southern University students, faculty, and staff wishing to visit and borrow books from other South Carolina academic libraries may do so if the institution is a member of PASCAL, the Partnership Among South Carolina Academic Libraries AND if the institution is participating in the PASCAL Visiting Patron Program. You will need your CSU ID card and possibly another form of ID. You may wish to search the combined PASCAL Delivers catalog before your visit.

If CSU students, faculty, and staff do not choose to visit other libraries in person, they may request materials through InterLibrary Loan and have the materials delivered to the CSU Library.

Return to Top




Lost or damaged items

When a library book, cassette tape, or other material becomes lost or damaged this should be reported promptly at the Circulation Desk so that any overdue fines will not continue to accrue. Students are encouraged to pay for lost or damaged items as soon as possible so replacement copies can be ordered. Payment must be made prior to the end of that semester.

When a library book has been paid for and then is found and returned within one year of being reported lost, the cost of the book and a portion of the $15.00 processing fee will be refunded. The book must be returned in good condition. Fines are not refundable.

Return to Top




End of Semester Charges

All library books must be returned before the end of each semester and all replacement costs for lost or damaged items paid. Students will be charged for each library book not returned at the following rate:

   $60.00 book price (based on the average hardcover book price in the Bowker Annual)
+ $15.00 processing fee
+ $ 5.00 minimum end of semester fine
============================
  $80.00 total

Returning students who fail to return library books by the end of the semester will be placed on a Library Hold in the Registrar's Office and will not be allowed to register or attend classes until the books are returned and all fines paid. Graduating students will not receive diplomas or transcripts until their library holds are cleared.

Return to Top


 
email us